Personal website builders

Free builders for a personal website or online resume site

We built Heya, which gives you 3 free name.heya.bio sites, a resume template, and up to 5 pages per site.

Heya is ours, so read its row with that in mind. Every other number comes from each builder's own pages, checked on October 23, 2026.

The 9 builders side by side

Here's what each free plan gives you and when you'll have to pay.

Builder Free plan Pages Free address Branding on free Cheapest paid plan Own domain from
Carrd Up to 3 sites 1 page per site name.carrd.co "Made with Carrd" Pro Lite, $9/year Pro Standard, $19/year
Wix $0, 500 MB storage Not stated siteprefix.wixsite.com/siteaddress Top banner and favicon Light, $17/month yearly Light, $17/month yearly
Google Sites Not stated Multiple, 5 levels deep sites.google.com Not stated Not stated Up to 5 domains
WordPress.com $0, 1 GB storage Unlimited pages and posts yoursite.wordpress.com WordPress.com ads Personal, $4/month yearly Personal, $4/month yearly
Canva Websites Up to 5 sites Not stated .canva.site "Designed with Canva" footer Canva Pro, $144/year Canva Pro, $144/year
GitHub Pages Free in public repos Not stated owner.github.io Not stated Not stated Free on GitHub Free
Notion Sites 1 notion.site domain Not stated notion.site "Built with Notion" watermark Plus, $10/month yearly Plus + $8/month add-on
about.me $0, 1 page 1 page about.me/yourname about.me branding Standard, $5/month yearly Pro, $7.50/month yearly
Heya $0, 3 sites Up to 5 per site name.heya.bio "Made with Heya" badge Pro Lite, $9/year Planned ($19/year, not live)

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

All prices are in US dollars from US pricing pages, shown at annual billing rates where offered.

A closer look at each builder

Carrd

Free, or from $9 a year.

Carrd builds one-page sites (using sections to simulate multiple pages), gives you a 7-day Pro trial without a card, and Pro Plus ($49/year) lets you download your unminified source code.

Better at
Cheap custom domains with forms for $19 a year.
Watch out
Free sites have an unstated element limit and are strictly one page.

Wix

Free, or from $17 a month yearly.

Wix's free plan needs no credit card and includes 500 MB storage and 1 GB bandwidth, while the Light plan ($204 a year up front) includes a 1-year free domain.

Better at
All-in-one hosting with a free first-year domain on paid plans.
Watch out
A Wix banner ad sits at the top of free sites.

Google Sites

No price listed; needs a Google account.

You can make personal or business sites with subpages 5 levels deep, embed YouTube, calendars, maps, or HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, and connect up to 5 custom domains.

Better at
Multi-page sites with deep subpages and custom code embeds.
Watch out
You need a computer to edit, and buying new domains requires Google Workspace.

WordPress.com

Free, or from $4 a month yearly.

The free plan never expires, needs no credit card, and gives you 1 GB storage, unlimited pages and posts, and 7-day stats; paying $2.75 a month for 3 years removes ads.

Better at
Unlimited pages and blog posts on a free plan.
Watch out
Free sites show ads, and can't use plugins or custom domains.

Canva Websites

Free, or $144 a year for Pro.

Canva Free lets you publish up to 5 live websites on a .canva.site address, while Canva Pro removes the footer branding and lets you connect a domain you already own.

Better at
Publishing up to 5 free sites if you already use Canva.
Watch out
Removing the "Designed with Canva" footer or connecting a domain costs $144 a year.

GitHub Pages

Free for public repositories on GitHub Free.

It hosts static HTML, CSS, and JavaScript files straight from a repo at owner.github.io (or owner.github.io/repositoryname), with a 1 GB site limit, 100 GB monthly bandwidth, and 10 builds an hour.

Better at
Free custom domains and hosting your own HTML, CSS, and JavaScript.
Watch out
You have to bring your own code, and online business or e-commerce sites aren't allowed.

Notion Sites

Free, or from $10 a month yearly.

You can publish Notion pages to one notion.site domain on the Free plan, or pay for Plus ($120/year, or $12 monthly) and an $8-$10 monthly add-on to use your own domain.

Better at
Turning a Notion page you already have into a live site.
Watch out
A custom domain and removing the watermark costs at least $216 a year in total.

about.me

Free, or from $5 a month yearly.

Free gives you one page and an email signature link; Standard ($60/year) adds lead capture and scheduling, while Pro ($90/year) adds portfolios, testimonials, video, Google Analytics, and custom domains.

Better at
A quick one-page profile with an email signature link.
Watch out
Removing branding or adding a portfolio and custom domain takes the $90-a-year Pro plan.

Heya

Free, or $9 a year (Pro Lite).

Heya is ours: build with 68 templates (including resume template and Sol, Gather, Index designs), 32 social icons, and YouTube, Vimeo, Spotify, SoundCloud, Calendly, or Maps embeds, then download plain HTML/CSS/ZIPs without signing up.

Better at
Building a 5-page site or downloading clean HTML and CSS for free.
Watch out
No custom domains yet (planned at $19/year), no forms, stats, custom code, or followed free links.

How we checked

On October 23, 2026, we checked each builder's own pricing and help pages from a US connection, with all prices in US dollars. We read carrd.co/pro and Carrd docs, wix.com/plans and Wix Help, Google Sites Help, wordpress.com/pricing, Canva's pricing and help pages, GitHub Docs, notion.com/pricing and Notion Help, and about.me/pricing.

Plans change often. If a number here is out of date, email hello@heya.page and we'll fix it.

FAQ

Which free builder lets me use my own domain for free?

GitHub Pages lets you connect a domain you own on GitHub Free, if your repository is public. Google Sites lets you connect up to 5 domains, though Google doesn't state the cost of connecting one.

What's the cheapest way to remove builder branding?

Carrd Pro Lite and Heya Pro Lite both cost $9 a year and remove the builder badge from your site.

Can I download the code for my site?

Heya lets you download a ZIP with plain HTML, CSS, fonts, and images on the free plan, even without an account. Carrd lets you download unminified source files on its Pro Plus plan for $49 a year.

Which builders give you more than one page on the free plan?

WordPress.com gives you unlimited pages and posts, Google Sites supports subpages up to 5 levels deep, and Heya gives you up to 5 pages per site (and up to 20 on Pro Lite). Carrd and about.me are one-page only.

Try Heya free

Build without an account, then sign in with Google to publish on name.heya.bio. 3 sites, up to 5 pages each, no credit card.