Squarespace pricing, the 14-day free trial, and cheaper alternatives in 2026

Squarespace is not free: it offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card required, and paid plans from $19 to $99 per month (up to 36% off when paying annually). To publish a live site, you must buy a plan or pick a free builder like Wix, Carrd, or Heya ($0).

Heya is ours, so read its row with that in mind. Every other number comes from each company's own pages, checked on October 28, 2026.

The short answer

Squarespace plans vs Heya plans

Squarespace does not have a free plan, so the table below compares its four paid tiers against Heya Free and Heya Pro Lite.

Plan Price Store & card fees Contributors & AI credits Custom domain & pages
Squarespace Basic $19 per month 2% store fee; cards from 2.9% + $0.30 2 contributors; 10 one-time AI credits Free custom domain included
Squarespace Core $29 per month No store fee; cards from 2.9% + $0.30 Unlimited contributors; 20 AI credits/month Not stated
Squarespace Plus $49 per month No store fee; cards from 2.7% + $0.30 Not stated; 40 AI credits/month Not stated
Squarespace Advanced $99 per month No store or membership fee; cards from 2.5% + $0.30 Not stated; 120 AI credits/month Not stated
Heya Free $0 Link a button to your checkout or store page No credits to buy; 68 templates on every plan yourname.heya.bio only; up to 5 pages on 3 sites
Heya Pro Lite $3 a month Link a button to your checkout or store page No credits to buy; 68 templates on every plan No custom domain on Pro Lite (up to 20 pages on 3 sites); Pro Standard ($6 a month) includes up to 5 sites and 1 custom domain per account

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

Not stated means the provided product facts do not specify that detail for that specific plan; Squarespace users can save up to 36% by paying annually.

Squarespace and cheaper alternatives compared

Squarespace

14-day free trial; $19 to $99/month

Squarespace gives you a 14-day free trial with no credit card needed. Paid plans run from $19 per month (Basic) to $99 per month (Advanced), saving up to 36% when paying annually, and include secure hosting, unlimited bandwidth, AI tools, and selling features.

Better at
Full online stores, blogging with paywalls, native scheduling, invoicing, and unlimited bandwidth.
Watch out
No permanent free plan; you must pay at least $19 per month to go live.

Wix

Free ($0); paid from $17 to $159/month

Wix has a Free plan for $0 on a free Wix domain. Paid plans, billed yearly in full, go from $17 per month for Light to $159 per month for Business Elite, with a 14-day money-back guarantee and a free domain for 1 year.

Better at
Publishing a multi-feature site for $0 or choosing from over 2000 templates.
Watch out
Displayed monthly prices require paying for a full year upfront; free sites show Wix branding.

Carrd

Free Basic; Pro from $9 to $49/year

Carrd has a free Basic option and a 7-day Pro trial with no credit card required. Yearly Pro plans cost $9 / year for Pro Lite (3 sites), $19 / year for Pro Standard (10 sites, custom domains, forms), and $49 / year for Pro Plus.

Better at
Low-cost yearly plans ($9 to $49/year) with custom domains starting at $19/year.
Watch out
Pro Lite ($9/year) does not include custom domains or contact forms.

Google Sites

Price not stated

Google Sites is a drag-and-drop builder with templates and an automatic grid layout that connects to Google Workspace, Docs, Sheets, and Presentations. You can link up to five custom domains per site, and it handles high visitor counts without losing performance.

Better at
Teams using Google Workspace that want Google Docs-style sharing permissions and version control.
Watch out
Work or school accounts need an administrator to connect a custom domain.

Heya

Free ($0); Pro Lite $3/mo, Pro Standard $6/mo

Heya is our no-code builder for one-page and small sites. You can start without an account and build on your phone. Heya Free is $0 with no time limit, Heya Pro Lite is $3 a month, and Heya Pro Standard is $6 a month with up to 5 sites, up to 20 pages per site, no badge, and 1 custom domain per account.

Better at
Free 5-page sites, $3 a month for 20-page sites, phone editing, and 68 templates.
Watch out
Free sites show a small badge and allow up to 5 pages per site, and custom domains require Pro Standard ($6 a month, for 1 custom domain per account).

Is Squarespace free? What the 14-day free trial really gets you

Squarespace doesn't have a free plan. What you get instead is a 14-day free trial that doesn't require a credit card and lets you cancel whenever you want. While you're in those 14 days, you can put your site together with a designer website template, Blueprint AI, or the Fluid Engine drag-and-drop editor.

You can't publish that site live or connect a custom domain on the trial, though - Squarespace makes you pick a paid plan first. If you're looking for a $0 plan, you'll want to look at a builder like Wix Free or our Heya Free plan (which has no time limit) instead.

Which Squarespace plan most people need

Every Squarespace plan comes with secure hosting, unlimited bandwidth, AI tools, and selling features. If you're building a standard site or starter shop, Basic at $19 per month is the starting point, with a free custom domain, 2 contributors, and 10 one-time AI credits. Once your sales make the 2% online store transaction fee add up, Core at $29 per month drops that fee and gives you unlimited contributors, 20 monthly AI credits, automated taxes and shipping, and a free year of Google Workspace email.

Plus at $49 per month and Advanced at $99 per month are for higher-volume shops wanting lower card rates (2.7% + $0.30 on Plus, 2.5% + $0.30 on Advanced) and more AI credits.

Transaction fees and billing rules to watch for

When you compare Squarespace prices, check whether you're looking at monthly or annual billing, because paying annually saves you up to 36%. On the $19 per month Basic plan, you'll pay a 2% online store transaction fee on top of card rates starting from 2.9% + $0.30. Moving up to Core ($29 per month) brings that online store transaction fee down to zero, though your card rates still start from 2.9% + $0.30.

Card rates don't drop until you're on Plus ($49 per month) at 2.7% + $0.30, or Advanced ($99 per month) at 2.5% + $0.30. One other billing detail: the Core plan comes with professional email from Google Workspace, but it's only free for the first year.

Cheaper and free alternatives if you do not need a full store

If you don't need ecommerce, paywalled blogs, or Acuity Scheduling, several tools cost much less than $19 per month. Wix has a $0 Free plan with Wix branding, or Light at $17 per month (billed yearly in full). Google Sites links with Docs, Sheets, and Presentations and takes up to five custom domains. Carrd has a free Basic tier and yearly plans at $9 / year (Pro Lite), $19 / year (Pro Standard, with custom domains), and $49 / year (Pro Plus).

Heya is for small sites: Heya Free is $0 for up to 3 sites at yourname.heya.bio, Heya Pro Lite is $3 a month for up to 20 pages per site without the Heya badge, and Heya Pro Standard is $6 a month with up to 5 sites and 1 custom domain per account.

How we checked

We compared Squarespace, Wix, Carrd, Google Sites, and Heya using their published plan prices, transaction fees, and included features. The facts come from carrd.co/docs/pro/plans, carrd.co/pro, workspace.google.com/products/sites, support.google.com/sites/answer/9068867, squarespace.com/pricing, squarespace.com/websites, wix.com/plans, wix.com, heya.page/pricing, heya.page/docs.

Plans change often. If a number here is out of date, email hello@heya.page and we'll fix it.

FAQ

Is Squarespace free?

No, Squarespace doesn't have a permanent free plan. You get a 14-day free trial with no credit card required to design your site, and then you have to pick a paid plan starting at $19 per month to connect a custom domain and take it live.

How does the Squarespace free trial work?

Squarespace gives you 14 days to try the platform for free with no credit card required, and you can cancel anytime. You can build your site during the trial using templates or Blueprint AI, then choose a paid plan when you're ready to publish it live.

How much does Squarespace cost per month?

Squarespace has four plans: Basic at $19 per month, Core at $29 per month, Plus at $49 per month, and Advanced at $99 per month. If you pay annually, you can save up to 36%.

What is the difference between Squarespace Basic and Core?

Squarespace Basic is $19 per month and comes with 2 contributors, 10 one-time AI credits, and a 2% online store transaction fee. Squarespace Core is $29 per month, removes online store transaction fees, and gives you unlimited contributors, 20 AI credits per month, automated taxes and shipping, and a free year of Google Workspace email.

Does Squarespace charge transaction fees on online stores?

It depends on your plan. The Basic plan ($19 per month) charges a 2% online store transaction fee on top of card rates from 2.9% + $0.30. Core ($29 per month), Plus ($49 per month), and Advanced ($99 per month) charge no online store transaction fees, just card rates from 2.9% + $0.30 down to 2.5% + $0.30.

What is the cheapest alternative to Squarespace?

Wix Free and the Heya Free plan both cost $0 with no credit card required, and Carrd also has a free Basic option. Among paid plans, Carrd Pro Lite ($9 / year) and Carrd Pro Standard ($19 / year, with custom domains for up to 10 sites) are the cheapest, while Heya Pro Lite costs $3 a month and Heya Pro Standard costs $6 a month.

Try Heya free

If you need a small site of up to 5 pages, try Heya Free for $0 with no credit card or time limit and start building in your browser without an account.