Best website builders for tattoo artists and tattoo shops in 2026

For a portfolio with a booking link, Heya starts at $0 (or $3 a month for Pro Lite) and Carrd starts at $0 or $9 per year, while Wix ($17 per month) and Squarespace ($19 per month) include custom domains. For full scheduling, Square Appointments starts at $0 per month, Booksy at $29.99 per month, and Vagaro at $30.00 per month.

Heya is ours, so read its row with that in mind. Every other number comes from each company's own pages, checked on October 28, 2026.

The short answer

Tattoo artist and tattoo shop platforms compared

Compare starting prices, custom domain support, photo limits, and booking tools across seven platforms.

Platform Free plan or trial Cheapest paid plan Custom domain Portfolio & image limits Booking & payments
Heya Free ($0, up to 3 sites, 5 pages/site) $3 a month (Pro Lite) Pro Standard ($6 a month, up to 5 sites, 1 custom domain per account) Up to 200 files/site, 20 MB each Calendly embed; link to your booking or checkout page
Carrd Free Basic experience; 7-day Pro trial $9 / year (Pro Lite) From $19 / year (Pro Standard) Images and GIFs up to 16MB on Pro Stripe/PayPal embeds from $19 / year
Wix Free ($0 with Wix domain and branding) $17 per month billed yearly (Light) Included on paid plans (free for 1 year) 2 GB storage on Light; up to unlimited Online scheduling and eCommerce tools
Squarespace 14-day free trial (no credit card) $19 per month (Basic) Free custom domain on Basic Portfolios, Asset Library, unlimited bandwidth Acuity Scheduling and Online Store tools
Square Appointments Free ($0 per month per location for solos) $49 per month per location (Plus) Not stated Not stated Online booking site; 2.6% + 15¢ in-person
Vagaro Free trial for new users $30.00/mo ($23.99/mo first 6 months) Not stated (includes MySite) Not stated Online booking, payments, forms, SOAP notes
Booksy 14 day free trial (no credit card) $29.99 per month plus tax Not stated Not stated 24/7 booking, waivers, no-show protection

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

Not stated means the provided product facts do not mention that feature or limit.

Closer look at each website builder and booking tool

Heya

Free ($0); Pro Lite $3/mo; Pro Standard $6/mo

Heya is our no-code builder for one-page and small sites. You can build on a phone without an account, starting from one of 68 templates or a blank page. Free is $0 for up to 3 sites, and Pro Lite is $3 a month.

Better at
Multi-page flash and healed-work galleries (up to 5 pages per site on Free and up to 20 on Pro Lite at $3 a month), with 68 templates and full editing on a phone.
Watch out
Free sites show a small "Made with Heya" badge and allow up to 5 pages per site; connecting a custom domain requires Pro Standard ($6 a month).

Carrd

Free Basic; Pro from $9 / year

Carrd has a free Basic experience and a 7-day Pro trial without a credit card. Pro Lite is $9 / year for 3 unbranded sites, Pro Standard is $19 / year with custom domains, and Pro Plus is $49 / year.

Better at
Custom domains and contact forms for $19 / year.
Watch out
Custom domains, forms, and third-party widgets require upgrading from Pro Lite to Pro Standard.

Wix

Free ($0); paid from $17/month billed yearly

Wix offers a $0 Free plan on a Wix domain and over 2000 templates. Yearly plans start at $17 per month for Light and $29 per month for Core, adding a custom domain for 1 year and online scheduling tools.

Better at
All-in-one website with custom domain, online scheduling, eCommerce, and CRM in one dashboard.
Watch out
Light plan only includes 2 GB of storage, and displayed USD prices require paying yearly in full.

Squarespace

14-day free trial; paid from $19/month

Squarespace starts with a 14-day free trial and paid plans from $19 per month for Basic up to $99 per month for Advanced. Plans include a custom domain, portfolios,unlimited bandwidth, plus Acuity Scheduling and Invoicing options.

Better at
Strong portfolio layouts with unlimited bandwidth, plus built-in invoicing, contracts, and Acuity Scheduling.
Watch out
No permanent free plan, and the Basic plan charges a 2% online store transaction fee.

Square Appointments

Free ($0/mo for solos); Plus $49/mo per location

Square Appointments Free is $0 per month per location for solo pros, with a booking site and 2.6% + 15¢ in-person fees. Square Plus is $49 per month per location, adding no-show fees, waitlists, and multi-staff booking.

Better at
Free online booking site and calendar for solo tattoo artists who already take card payments.
Watch out
Cancellation policy and no-show fees require the $49 per month per location Plus plan.

Vagaro

Free trial; from $30.00/mo ($23.99/mo first 6 mos)

Vagaro costs $30.00 per month for one solo location, or $23.99 per month for the first 6 months. It includes booking on Instagram and Apple Maps, forms, SOAP notes, waitlists, and a free card reader with a 12-month processing commitment.

Better at
Direct booking across Instagram, Facebook, and Apple Maps with forms, waitlists, and gift certificates.
Watch out
Free card reader requires a 12-month commitment to Vagaro Merchant Services or a $150 cancellation fee.

Booksy

14-day free trial; $29.99/month plus tax

Booksy is $29.99 per month plus tax, and $20 per month per extra team member, after a 14 day free trial. You get unlimited bookings, liability waivers, custom forms, no-show protection, waitlists, and 2,000 free SMS messages per month.

Better at
Includes liability waivers, custom forms, no-show protection, and 2,000 monthly SMS messages in one plan.
Watch out
Each additional artist or team member adds $20 per month on top of the $29.99 base price.

What a tattoo artist or tattoo shop website needs

A tattoo website needs clear galleries for healed work and available flash, a direct way to book or request an appointment, and your shop address and social links. On Heya, you can upload up to 200 images per site at up to 20 MB per file, which get resized to 2048 pixels on the long edge and converted to WebP. Carrd Pro plans allow image and GIF uploads up to 16MB and videos up to 64MB, while Squarespace gives you portfolios, an Asset Library, and unlimited bandwidth.

For booking and location details, Heya's embed block supports Calendly and Google Maps, and our socials block links to 29 networks plus email, phone, and website. If you run guest spots or flash drops, Heya also has a countdown block, and Squarespace Plus ($49 per month) includes a countdown timer.

When a dedicated booking platform is worth paying for

Many solo artists just need a portfolio site that links out to an appointment request form or a Calendly page. Multi-artist shops and busy solo artists often pay for dedicated booking software to get no-show protection, digital waivers, and in-person card processing. Booksy is $29.99 per month plus tax ($20 per month per extra team member) and includes liability waivers, custom forms, no-show protection, waitlists, and Tap to Pay at 2.49% + $0.20 per transaction.

Square Appointments has a $0 per month Free plan for solo pros with unlimited staff calendars, while its $49 per month per location Plus plan adds cancellation policies, no-show fees, multi-staff booking, and a waitlist. Vagaro starts at $30.00 per month ($23.99 per month for the first 6 months) for one person with forms, SOAP notes, and Instagram, Facebook, and Apple Maps booking. If you want a full design builder with scheduling, Wix ($17 to $159 per month billed yearly) and Squarespace ($19 to $99 per month) both cover it.

Free vs paid tattoo websites: what you actually get

You can launch a tattoo portfolio and booking setup for $0, though free plans have branding or domain limits. Heya Free is $0 with no credit card and gives you up to 3 sites with up to 5 pages each at yourname.heya.bio, with a small Made with Heya badge. Heya Pro Lite is $3 a month to drop the badge and get up to 20 pages per site, while Heya Pro Standard ($6 a month) covers up to 5 sites and 1 custom domain per account.

Carrd has a free Basic experience and a $9 / year Pro Lite plan for unbranded .crd.co URLs, while custom domains, contact forms, and Stripe or Typeform embeds start on Pro Standard at $19 / year. Wix has a $0 Free plan with branding, and custom domains start at $17 per month billed yearly. Square Appointments gives solo pros a booking site for $0 per month per location, charging 2.6% + 15¢ in person or 3.3% + 30¢ online.

How to set up a tattoo website on Heya with the tattoo template

On Heya, you can start from one of 68 templates or a blank page without an account, and your draft saves in your browser. You can build the whole site on your phone with 10 block types: heading, text, image, buttons, links, socials, embed, divider, spacer, and countdown. Add healed work and flash with image blocks (up to 200 files per site, up to 20 MB each), pick from 42 fonts, 14 theme presets, and a 5-color palette, and embed Calendly and Google Maps.

Link your Instagram with the socials block, or use buttons (up to 6 buttons) and links (up to 50 links) to point to Square Appointments, Booksy, or Vagaro. Then sign in with Google to publish for $0 at yourname.heya.bio.

Open the tattoo artists and shops template in the editor or see what it includes.

How we checked

We compared website builders and appointment platforms using only verified pricing, plan limits, image rules, and booking features documented for each product. Where a platform's materials did not state a specific limit or feature, we marked it as not stated rather than guessing. The facts come from biz.booksy.com/pricing, carrd.co/docs/pro/plans, carrd.co/pro, squareup.com/us/en/appointments/pricing, squarespace.com/pricing, squarespace.com/websites, vagaro.com/pro/pricing, wix.com/plans, wix.com, heya.page/pricing, heya.page/docs.

Plans change often. If a number here is out of date, email hello@heya.page and we'll fix it.

FAQ

What is the cheapest way to build a tattoo portfolio website?

Heya Free and Wix Free both cost $0, and Carrd offers a free Basic experience. To remove the platform badge, Carrd Pro Lite costs $9 / year for up to 3 sites, and Heya Pro Lite costs $3 a month for up to 3 sites (20 pages each). For a custom domain, Carrd Pro Standard is $19 / year and Heya Pro Standard is $6 a month.

Which tattoo booking app includes digital consent and liability waivers?

Booksy includes liability waivers and custom forms on its $29.99 per month plus tax plan. Vagaro ($30.00 per month regularly, or $23.99 per month for the first 6 months) includes forms and has SOAP notes on every plan. On Heya, you can embed a Calendly scheduling page or link a button to a Google Form, Tally form, or the booking page you already use.

Can I take tattoo deposits and prevent no-shows with these tools?

Yes, if you use a booking platform or an eCommerce plan. Booksy ($29.99 per month plus tax) has no-show protection and integrated payments, and Square Appointments adds cancellation policy and no-show fees on its $49 per month per location Plus plan. On Heya, you can embed a Calendly scheduling page or link a button to the booking or checkout page you already use.

How many tattoo flash and portfolio photos can I upload?

On Heya, you can upload up to 200 files per site at up to 20 MB per image, and we resize them to 2048 pixels on the long edge and convert them to WebP. Carrd Pro plans ($9 to $49 / year) allow images and GIFs up to 16MB and videos up to 64MB with unlimited elements. Wix gives you 2 GB storage on Light ($17 per month), 50 GB on Core ($29 per month), 100 GB on Business ($39 per month), and unlimited on Business Elite ($159 per month).

Can I use Heya together with Square Appointments, Booksy, or Vagaro?

Yes, you can use Heya for your portfolio and flash website and link clients to your booking profile. You can use Heya's buttons block (up to 6 buttons) and links block (up to 50 links) to point to Square Appointments, Booksy, or Vagaro, or embed a Calendly page. That way you keep a multi-page portfolio on Heya Free ($0) or Pro Lite ($3 a month) and take appointments in your booking app.

Does Heya support custom domains for tattoo shops?

Yes. Heya Pro Standard ($6 a month) includes up to 5 sites and lets you connect 1 custom domain per account that you already own, with HTTPS included. Heya Pro Plus ($15 a month) supports up to 25 sites and up to 10 custom domains per account. Heya Free ($0) sites publish at yourname.heya.bio, and Pro Lite ($3 a month) removes the badge for up to 3 sites on yourname.heya.bio.

Try Heya free

Start building your tattoo portfolio with one of Heya's 68 templates in your browser or on your phone with no account required, and publish up to 5 pages for $0 at yourname.heya.bio.