Best website builders for photographers in 2026

Pixieset, Pixpa, Zenfolio, Format, and SmugMug are the best website builders for photographers who need client galleries and online sales, while Squarespace suits all-in-one business sites and Heya fits simple one-page and small sites. Paid plans start from $3 a month on Heya and $4.05 per month billed 2-yearly on Pixpa up to $20.00 per month billed annually on SmugMug, with free plans on Pixieset and Heya.

Heya is ours, so read its row with that in mind. Every other number comes from each company's own pages, checked on October 28, 2026.

The short answer

Photography website builders compared side by side

This table compares free options, starting paid prices, custom domains, client galleries, and print or store sales across all seven builders.

Builder Free plan or trial Cheapest paid plan Custom domain Client galleries Store and print sales
Pixieset Free forever plan ($0/mo) $8/mo billed annually ($10/mo monthly) Supported Included (3 GB to Unlimited) Store included; 15% fee on lowest tier, commission-free higher
SmugMug 14-day free trial $20.00/mo billed annually Supported Included with unlimited JPEG storage Print and digital sales from $23.50/mo billed annually
Zenfolio Free trial (no credit card) $7/mo billed annually ($9/mo monthly) Included on all plans Included on all plans (15 GB on Basic) From $11.50/mo billed annually; 7% commerce fee per order
Format 14-day free trial (no credit card) $10/mo billed annually (normally $14/mo) Supported; free first year on Pro/Pro Plus annual 10 on Basic, 50 on Pro, 250 on Pro Plus Commission-free store from Pro ($12/mo billed annually)
Pixpa 15-day free trial (no credit card) $4.05/mo billed 2-yearly (discounted from $9) Free custom domain for year 1 Included on all plans (3 GB to 100 GB) Zero-commission store on all plans (3 to unlimited products)
Squarespace 14-day free trial (no credit card) $19 per month (Basic) Free custom domain on Basic Not stated (portfolios and memberships supported) Selling on all plans; 2% store fee on Basic, no fee on Core, Plus, and Advanced
Heya Free plan ($0, no time limit) $3 a month (Pro Lite) Included on Pro Standard ($6 a month, 1 custom domain per account, up to 5 sites) Up to 200 images per site Link a button to your store

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

Not stated means the product's provided documentation did not specify that detail; prices keep the billing period stated by each provider.

Detailed breakdown of each photography website builder

Pixieset

Free ($0/mo); paid from $8/mo billed annually ($10/mo monthly)

Pixieset has a $0 per month free forever plan, with paid plans from $8 per month to $40 per month billed annually. The $28 per month Suite bundles Client Gallery, Website, Store, Studio Manager, and up to Unlimited storage.

Better at
Free forever tier with client galleries, mobile gallery apps, and automatic store fulfillment.
Watch out
Store charges a 15% commission on the lowest tier; Photo Editor is $12/mo extra.

SmugMug

14-day free trial; paid from $20.00/mo billed annually

SmugMug starts with a 14-day free trial, then costs $20.00 per month (Direct), $23.50 per month (Portfolio), or $37.00 per month (Pro), billed annually. SmugMug provides unlimited full resolution JPEG storage, and the Direct plan includes unlimited photo storage, Lightroom integration, and 24/7 live human support.

Better at
Unlimited full-resolution JPEG storage and Adobe Lightroom integration.
Watch out
No free plan, and print sales require at least the $23.50/mo billed annually Portfolio plan.

Zenfolio

Free trial; paid from $7/mo billed annually ($9/mo monthly)

Zenfolio offers a no-credit-card free trial and plans at $7 per month, $11.50 per month, and $20 per month billed annually. You get a website, client galleries, and proofing, while selling prints with labs like Mpix starts on Professional.

Better at
Direct print lab integrations (Miller's, Mpix, Bay Photo) and Lightroom plugin.
Watch out
Does not store RAW files, and orders carry a 7% commerce fee plus download fees.

Format

14-day free trial; paid from $10/mo billed annually (normally $14/mo)

Format gives you a 14-day free trial and annual plans at $10 per month (Basic), $12 per month (Pro), and $15 per month (Pro Plus). Pro includes unlimited pages, 1,500 high-resolution images, 50 client galleries, and a commission-free store.

Better at
Commission-free store, CRM Light with client contracts, and HTML/CSS access on Pro.
Watch out
Basic plan is capped at 70 high-resolution images and has no online store.

Pixpa

15-day free trial; paid from $4.05/mo billed 2-yearly (discounted from $9)

Pixpa has a 15-day trial and 2-yearly plans from $4.05 per month (Basic) to $11.25 per month (Advanced). Every tier comes with 200+ templates, client galleries with proofing, a zero-commission store, and a free custom domain for year 1.

Better at
Zero-commission store and client galleries with proofing included on every tier.
Watch out
Lowest advertised rates require 2-yearly billing and include a 25% first-period discount.

Squarespace

14-day free trial; paid from $19/mo

Squarespace offers a 14-day free trial and plans at $19 per month (Basic), $29 per month (Core), $49 per month (Plus), and $99 per month (Advanced). It includes the Fluid Engine editor, selling functionality on all plans, and a free custom domain on the Basic plan.

Better at
All-in-one business tools including Acuity Scheduling, proposals, contracts, and analytics.
Watch out
Starts at $19/mo with a 2% store fee on Basic, and no dedicated client proofing gallery specs are stated.

Heya

Free ($0); Pro Lite $3/mo; Pro Standard $6/mo; Pro Plus $15/mo

Ours is Heya, a no-code builder with a photographers template among 68 templates. It's $0 on Free (up to 3 sites), $3 a month on Pro Lite, or $6 a month on Pro Standard with up to 5 sites and 1 custom domain per account, plus Calendly embeds and buttons you can link to your store.

Better at
Free or $3 a month for a simple portfolio page with Calendly embeds and phone editing.
Watch out
A custom domain needs Pro Standard ($6/mo), and Free sites show a small badge.

What a website for photographers needs

A photography site has two jobs: showing a portfolio to get bookings, and delivering private galleries or prints to paying clients. If you just need a public portfolio with sample work, pricing, social links, and a calendar, Heya (up to 200 files per site in WebP, plus Calendly embeds) or Format Basic (10 pages and 70 high-resolution images) can cover the basics.

If you deliver full shoots, Pixieset, SmugMug, Zenfolio, Format, and Pixpa all include client galleries, with features like proofing and favorites on Pixpa, proofing on Zenfolio, and favoriting and download limits on SmugMug Pro. For high volume, SmugMug provides unlimited full-resolution JPEG storage and Zenfolio includes unlimited JPEG storage on Advanced (starting at $20 per month, billed annually), while Pixieset and SmugMug also offer options for RAW files.

When a dedicated photography platform is worth paying for

Paying for a dedicated photography platform makes sense once you sell prints, send private client galleries, or publish straight from Adobe Lightroom. SmugMug ($23.50 per month billed annually on Portfolio), Zenfolio ($11.50 per month billed annually on Professional, working with Miller's, Mpix, Bay Photo, and Fujifilm), and Pixieset handle print and digital fulfillment automatically.

Watch the store fees, though. Pixpa takes zero commission on all four plans ($4.05 to $11.25 per month billed 2-yearly), and Format has a commission-free store from Pro ($12 per month billed annually for 15 products). Zenfolio charges a 7% commerce fee per order plus download fees, Pixieset charges 15% on its lowest tier, and Squarespace takes 2% on its $19 per month Basic plan.

Free vs paid photography website builders

Out of these seven builders, only Pixieset and Heya have free plans with no time limit. SmugMug, Format, and Squarespace give you 14-day free trials, Pixpa gives 15 days, and Zenfolio has a no-credit-card trial. Pixieset's $0 per month free forever plan lets you try its Client Gallery (starting at 3 GB storage) and Store (with a 15% commission fee) before moving to paid plans from $8 per month billed annually.

Our $0 Heya Free plan gives you up to 3 sites with up to 5 pages each at yourname.heya.bio, and Pro Lite is $3 a month for up to 20 pages per site and no badge. Heya Pro Standard is $6 a month and includes 1 custom domain per account across up to 5 sites, with up to 20 pages per site and no badge.

How to set up a photography portfolio on Heya

If you just want a clean portfolio page to show your best shots and take booking inquiries, you can start on Heya without an account and pick the photographers template from our 68 templates. Your draft saves in your browser on a computer or phone, and you only sign in with Google when you're ready to publish.

You can upload up to 200 images per site (up to 20 MB each, resized to 2048 pixels on the long edge and converted to WebP), pick from 42 fonts and 14 theme presets, and link up to 29 social networks. For bookings and inquiries, you can embed a Calendly scheduling page or link a button to a Google Form or Tally form, plus embed YouTube, Vimeo, or Google Maps.

Open the photographers template in the editor or see what it includes.

How we checked

We compared Pixieset, SmugMug, Zenfolio, Format, Pixpa, Squarespace, and Heya using each platform's published pricing, storage tiers, gallery features, and ecommerce fees as checked on October 28, 2026. The facts come from format.com/pricing, pixieset.com/pricing, pixieset.com/website, pixpa.com/pricing, smugmug.com/plans, squarespace.com/pricing, squarespace.com/websites, zenfolio.com/pricing, heya.page/pricing, heya.page/docs.

Plans change often. If a number here is out of date, email hello@heya.page and we'll fix it.

FAQ

Which photography website builder has the best free plan?

Pixieset and Heya are the two builders here with free plans that don't expire. Pixieset's $0 per month plan includes Client Gallery (starting at 3 GB storage) and a Store with a 15% commission fee. Heya Free costs $0 with no credit card for up to 3 sites (up to 5 pages per site) at yourname.heya.bio with a small "Made with Heya" badge.

What is the cheapest paid website builder for photographers?

Heya Pro Lite costs $3 a month for a simple portfolio with up to 20 pages per site and no Heya badge. If you need client galleries and online stores, Pixpa starts at $4.05 per month billed 2-yearly, Zenfolio starts at $7 per month, billed annually, and Pixieset starts at $8 per month when billed annually.

Which builders let photographers sell prints without commission fees?

Pixpa, Format, Pixieset, and Squarespace all let you sell without commission fees. Pixpa charges zero commission across all plans starting at $4.05 per month billed 2-yearly, and Format is commission-free starting on its $12 per month billed annually Pro plan. Pixieset is commission-free above its lowest tier, while Squarespace charges no fees on online store transactions on its $29 per month Core plan.

Which photography website builders include unlimited photo storage?

SmugMug provides unlimited full resolution JPEG storage, with unlimited photo storage included on the Direct plan ($20.00 per month, billed annually). Zenfolio includes unlimited JPEG storage on Advanced (starting at $20 per month, billed annually), and Pixieset has an Unlimited photo storage tier for Client Gallery. Format Pro Plus ($15 per month billed annually) also gives you unlimited high-resolution images and unlimited website pages with 1 TB of storage.

Can I upload RAW photo files to these website builders?

Yes, Pixieset and SmugMug both support RAW files, while Zenfolio doesn't store them. Pixieset lets you upload up to 1,000 GB of RAW photos and has a $12 per month Photo Editor add-on for RAW editing, batch editing, and culling. SmugMug offers a RAW storage add-on for up to 1 TB at $10 per month, plus $6 per month per extra TB.

Is Heya a good choice for a photography website?

Yes, Heya is a good fit if you want a simple portfolio ($0 on Free, $3 a month on Pro Lite, or $6 a month on Pro Standard with 1 custom domain per account) with up to 200 images per site and an embedded Calendly booking page. You can also link buttons to a Google Form for inquiries or to your online print store.

Try Heya free

Start building your portfolio with Heya's photographers template in your browser with no account required, and publish for $0 on Free or $3 a month on Pro Lite.