Best website builders for crafters and makers in 2026
For crafters wanting an online store, Big Cartel starts free (or $15/mo for Platinum) and Etsy charges
$0.20 USD per listing plus a 6.5% transaction fee. For a link-in-bio or home page pointing to your shop,
Heya is $0 or starts at $3 a month on Pro Lite. This guide compares six options.
Heya is ours, so read its row with that in mind. Every other number comes from each company's own pages,
checked on October 28, 2026.
The short answer
-
Best free online shop Big Cartel offers a free, limited feature Gold Plan, and its
paid Platinum plan costs $15/mo after a 7-day free trial with custom domain support.
-
Best marketplace with website add-on Etsy charges $0.20 USD per listing and a 6.5%
transaction fee on Etsy.com, and offers its Pattern website tool for $15.00 USD per month after a
30-day free trial.
-
Best for large catalogs Shopify lets you sell unlimited products starting at $29 USD
per month billed yearly ($39 USD per month billed monthly), with up to 87% off shipping.
-
Best for portfolios and stores Squarespace starts at $19 per month on the Basic plan
with a free custom domain, portfolio support, and selling functionality (with a 2% online store
transaction fee).
-
Best simple hub linking to Etsy Heya gives you a home page or link page for $0 (up to
5 pages per site) or $3 a month on Pro Lite (up to 20 pages per site) with buttons that link straight
to your shop.
Craft website builders compared side by side
Here is how Etsy, Big Cartel, Square Online, Shopify, Squarespace, and Heya compare on price, selling
fees, custom domains, and shipping tools.
| Platform |
Free plan or trial |
Starting paid price |
Selling and transaction fees |
Custom domain |
In-person or shipping tools |
| Etsy |
No monthly fee on Standard; 30-day Pattern trial |
Pattern $15.00 USD/mo; Etsy Plus $10 USD/mo |
$0.20 USD listing; 6.5% transaction fee + processing |
Via Tucows on Pattern for additional fee |
Syncs listings with Square reader for in-person sales |
| Big Cartel |
Free Gold Plan; 7-day trial on Platinum |
Platinum $15/mo; Diamond $30/MO |
Not stated |
Included on Platinum ($15/mo) |
Sell in person via phone; up to 90% off shipping |
| Square Online |
Included in any Square plan |
Not stated (Hardware from $59; Payroll $35/mo) |
Not stated |
Not stated |
Orders and fulfillment; offline payments included |
| Shopify |
3-day free trial; Agentic plan $0/mo |
Basic $29 USD/mo billed yearly ($39 USD/mo monthly) |
Basic online cards 2.9% + 30¢; 2% third-party fee |
Included with Shopify Hosting |
In-person cards from 2.6% + 10¢; up to 87% off shipping |
| Squarespace |
14-day free trial (no credit card required) |
Basic $19/mo; Core $29/mo |
Basic: 2% fee + 2.9% + $0.30; Core: no store fee |
Free custom domain on Basic |
Manage orders and shipping; automated shipping on Core |
| Heya |
Free plan ($0, no time limit, up to 3 sites) |
Pro Lite $3/mo |
Link buttons to your Etsy or checkout page |
Pro Standard ($6/mo) includes 1 custom domain per account |
Link out to your shop |
Swipe the table sideways to see every column.
Closer look at each website builder for crafters
Etsy
Standard: no monthly fee ($0.20 USD/listing + 6.5% fee); Pattern $15.00 USD/mo
Etsy charges a $0.20 USD listing fee per item and a 6.5% transaction fee on price, shipping, and
gift wrapping. For a personalized site, Pattern costs $15.00 USD per month after a 30-day free
trial, with no listing fees on Pattern-only items.
- Better at
-
No monthly fee on Etsy Standard, Pattern-only items with no listing fees, and Square reader
syncing for in-person craft markets.
- Watch out
- 6.5% transaction fees, $0.20 USD listing fees, and 15% Offsite Ads fees.
Big Cartel
Free Gold Plan; Platinum $15/mo; Diamond $30/MO
Big Cartel starts with a free Gold Plan for independent sellers. Platinum is $15/mo after a 7-day
free trial for custom domains and digital products, while Diamond is $30/MO for scheduled drops and
abandoned cart recovery. You can also import Etsy products.
- Better at
- Free plan to start, Etsy product imports, and scheduled product drops on Diamond.
- Watch out
- Automatic discounts and abandoned cart recovery require the $30/MO Diamond plan.
Square Online
Online store features included in any Square plan; Hardware from $59
Square Online includes a website, cart, checkout, and bookings in any Square plan. You get next day
transfers and offline payments, though your device must reconnect within 24 hours of the first
offline payment at a craft fair. Hardware starts at $59.
- Better at
- Online store features and next day transfers included with any Square plan.
- Watch out
- Offline payments are declined if not reconnected to the internet within 24 hours.
Shopify
Basic $29 USD/mo billed yearly ($39 USD/mo monthly); Agentic $0/mo
Shopify has a 3-day free trial, then $1 per month for 3 months. Full stores start on Basic at $29
USD per month billed yearly ($39 USD per month billed monthly) with unlimited products, a custom
domain, and up to 87% off shipping.
- Better at
-
Unlimited products, 10 inventory locations, and 50 free synced marketplace orders per month.
- Watch out
- Higher monthly cost after the initial $1 per month for 3 months intro period.
Squarespace
14-day trial; Basic $19/mo; Core $29/mo; Plus $49/mo; Advanced $99/mo
Squarespace gives you a 14-day free trial, a Fluid Engine editor, portfolios, and blogs, plus
selling functionality on all plans. Basic costs $19 per month with a 2% online store transaction
fee, while Core at $29 per month drops that 2% fee and adds automated taxes.
- Better at
-
Designer templates, portfolios, and Acuity Scheduling for custom craft consultations or
workshops.
- Watch out
- No free plan after the 14-day trial, and Basic charges a 2% online store transaction fee.
Heya
Free ($0); Pro Lite $3/mo; Pro Standard $6/mo
Heya is our no-code builder for one-page and small sites, with 68 templates (12 designs plus 56
use-specific templates). Heya Free is $0, and Pro Lite is $3 a month. There is no store, so crafters
show up to 200 images and link to Etsy.
- Better at
-
Free with no time limit or starts at $3 a month on Pro Lite, phone editing, and a countdown
block to a date you pick.
- Watch out
-
Free sites show a small "Made with Heya" badge and allow up to 5 pages per site, and custom
domains require Pro Standard ($6 a month).
What a website for crafters and makers needs
First, decide if you want to take payments on your site or send buyers to Etsy. Selling directly means
you need tools to sell products, accept payments, and handle orders and shipping, which you'll find on
Big Cartel, Shopify, Square Online, and Squarespace (with label printing on Big Cartel Platinum and
Shopify, and automated tax tools on Big Cartel, Shopify, and Squarespace Core).
If you sell at craft fairs, you can sync Etsy with a Square reader to skip Etsy's 6.5% transaction
fee, take phone payments on Big Cartel, or use offline payments on any Square Online plan. For limited
batches, Big Cartel's Diamond plan ($30/MO) schedules drops and password-protects products,
Squarespace Plus ($49 per month) has a reserved cart and countdown timer, and Heya includes a
countdown block on all plans.
When a dedicated ecommerce platform is worth paying for
Etsy Standard has no monthly fee, but you pay $0.20 USD to list each item for four months, a 6.5%
transaction fee, payment processing fees, and a 15% Offsite Ads fee on attributed orders. Etsy's
Pattern builder costs $15.00 USD per month after a 30-day free trial. For the same $15/mo, Big
Cartel's Platinum plan gives you an independent store, a custom domain, up to 90% off shipping, and an
Etsy importer.
If you want a portfolio too, Squarespace Basic is $19 per month with a 2% online store transaction
fee, and Core is $29 per month with no transaction fees. For a large catalog, Shopify Basic ($29 USD
per month billed yearly) includes unlimited products and 50 free synced marketplace orders per month.
Free vs paid craft websites
You can put your crafts online for $0. Big Cartel has a free Gold Plan, Square Online comes in any
Square plan, and Shopify has a $0 per month Agentic plan for AI channels (online card rates from 2.9%
+ 30¢ USD). If you already sell on Etsy or at local markets and just need a home page, our Heya Free
plan is $0 for up to 3 sites and up to 5 pages per site at yourname.heya.bio.
Heya Pro Lite costs $3 a month to remove the "Made with Heya" badge and get up to 20 pages per site.
For a custom domain and to sell products online, look at Big Cartel Platinum ($15/mo), Squarespace
Basic ($19 per month), or Shopify Basic ($29 USD per month billed yearly).
How to set up a craft home page on Heya with the template
If you want a simple home page that points buyers to your Etsy shop, you can start on Heya without an
account and your draft stays in your browser until you publish. Pick from our 68 templates (or start
blank) on your computer or phone, and upload up to 200 images per site up to 20 MB each, which Heya
resizes to 2048 pixels and converts to WebP.
Add up to 6 buttons or 50 links for your Etsy listings, link up to 29 social networks plus email,
phone, and website, or embed a YouTube or Vimeo video, a Google Maps pin for your next market, and a
countdown block. When you're ready, sign in with Google to publish at yourname.heya.bio, with
sitemap.xml and robots.txt generated automatically.
Open the crafters and makers template in the editor or
see what it includes.
How we checked
We compared Etsy, Big Cartel, Square Online, Shopify, Squarespace, and Heya using their published plan
prices, transaction fees, custom domain policies, and selling or showcase features for crafters and
makers. The facts come from
bigcartel.com/product/pricing,
etsy.com/legal/fees,
shopify.com/pricing,
squareup.com/us/en/online-store/plans,
squarespace.com/pricing,
squarespace.com/websites,
heya.page/pricing,
heya.page/docs.
Plans change often. If a number here is out of date, email hello@heya.page and we'll fix it.
FAQ
Can I sell my crafts directly on a Heya website?+
You can link a button or links block directly to your Etsy shop, checkout page, or online store so
shoppers can buy your work. Heya lets you upload up to 200 images per site (up to 20 MB each,
automatically converted to WebP) to showcase your crafts before sending visitors to checkout.
What is the cheapest way to build an online store for crafts?+
Big Cartel has a free, limited feature Gold Plan, Square Online comes with any Square plan, and
Shopify has a $0 per month Agentic plan for AI channels (card rates from 2.9% + 30¢ USD). For a
full store with a custom domain, Big Cartel Platinum starts at $15/mo and Squarespace Basic is $19
per month.
How much does Etsy charge for a craft website?+
Standard Etsy shops have no monthly fee, while a personalized website built with Etsy's Pattern
tool costs $15.00 USD per month after a 30-day free trial. On Etsy.com, you pay $0.20 USD per
listing, payment processing fees, and a 6.5% transaction fee on the listing price, shipping, and
gift wrapping.
Can I move my Etsy listings to another website builder?+
Yes, Big Cartel lets you import your products straight from Etsy, Squarespace, and Shopify.
Shopify also gives you 50 synced marketplace orders per month for free, and charges 1% up to $99
per month once you go over 50 synced orders.
Which craft website builders work best for in-person craft fairs?+
Etsy sellers can use a Square reader in person to sync listings and skip Etsy's 6.5% transaction
fee and Etsy payment processing fees. Square Online includes offline payments on all plans if your
device reconnects within 24 hours, Big Cartel takes in-person payments from your phone, and
Shopify Basic has in-person card rates of 2.6% + 10¢.
Does Heya support custom domains for my craft site?+
Yes, the Heya Pro Standard plan ($6 a month) includes up to 5 sites and 1 custom domain per
account. Heya Free sites are published at yourname.heya.bio.
Try Heya free
Start building your craft home page on Heya with one of 68 ready-made templates (or a blank page)
for $0, with no account or credit card needed.