Best website builders for restaurants in 2026: 8 platforms compared

The best website builder for a restaurant depends on whether you need online ordering or a simple info page. Dedicated restaurant platforms like Popmenu ($159 per month, prepaid annually, with interactive menus and online ordering as an add-on) and Owner.com ($249 per month plus a 5% restaurant fee per order, with online ordering included) cover restaurant-specific tools, while general builders like Wix ($0 or from $17 per month) and Heya ($0 or from $3 a month) cost much less.

Heya is ours, so read its row with that in mind. Every other number comes from each company's own pages, checked on October 28, 2026.

The short answer

Restaurant website builders compared side by side

Here is how the eight platforms compare on free plans, starting prices, custom domains, and restaurant ordering features.

Platform Free plan or trial Cheapest paid plan Custom domain Online ordering & menus POS or hardware requirement
Owner.com Free demo $249/month + 5% restaurant fee per order Uses your website domain Included on all plans with catering and mobile app POS integrations included
Popmenu Not stated $159/month, prepaid annually Not stated Interactive menu included; ordering is an add-on Integrates with restaurant POS
BentoBox Not stated Not stated Not stated Offers online ordering, ecommerce, and catering Only available to Clover POS customers
Toast Websites POS Starter Kit from $0/month POS from $69/month; Websites in Digital Storefront Pro Not stated Custom online ordering in Digital Storefront Pro Requires approved Toast hardware
Square Online Not stated Online store included in any Square plan Not stated Orders, fulfillment, cart, checkout, and catalog Hardware from $59
Wix $0 Free plan $17 per month (yearly); $29 per month with basic eCommerce Included on paid plans (free for 1 year on annual plans) eCommerce on Core ($29 per month) and above Not specified
Squarespace 14-day free trial $19/month Free custom domain on Basic ($19/month) Online Store tools on all plans (2% fee on Basic) Not stated
Heya $0 Free plan (up to 5 pages) $3/mo (Pro Lite, up to 20 pages) 1 per account on Pro Standard ($6/mo) Text menus; link a button to your ordering page Can build and edit on a phone

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

Not stated means the platform's public pricing or feature list did not specify that detail on the date checked.

Closer look at each restaurant website builder

Owner.com

From $249/month + 5% fee; or $499/month flat

Owner.com costs $249 per month plus a 5% restaurant fee per order on Flexible, or $499 per month with no restaurant fees on Flat Rate. Guests pay a 5% order support fee. Plans are month-to-month and include online ordering, a mobile app, loyalty, and 24/7 support.

Better at
Built-in online ordering, branded mobile app, loyalty, catering, and a dedicated setup specialist.
Watch out
Starts at $249 per month, and you give up some control over website customization.

Popmenu

From $159/month (prepaid annually)

Popmenu costs $159 per month on Starter, $269 per month on Essentials, and $449 per month on Premier when prepaid annually. Starter includes an SEO-driven website, interactive menu with dish reviews, OpenTable integration, and email marketing. Online ordering and catering are paid add-ons.

Better at
Interactive menu with dish reviews, OpenTable sync, and restaurant POS integrations.
Watch out
Starts at $159 per month prepaid annually, and online ordering and catering cost extra as add-ons.

BentoBox

Not stated (Clover POS customers only)

BentoBox provides restaurant websites, online ordering, ecommerce, online catering, and restaurant marketing solutions. It's now part of the Clover ecosystem, so its products are currently only available to Clover POS customers. Existing BentoBox customers can buy add-ons by contacting their customer success manager or emailing hello@getbento.com.

Better at
Combines restaurant websites, online ordering, ecommerce, and catering inside the Clover ecosystem.
Watch out
Currently only available to Clover POS customers, and public plan prices are not stated.

Toast Websites

POS from $0 or $69/month; Websites in Digital Storefront Pro

Toast's Starter Kit starts at $0 per month for 1 location with up to 2 terminals, and Point of Sale starts at $69 per month. Toast Websites comes in Digital Storefront Pro with custom online ordering and SEO features, plus 24/7/365 support and offline mode.

Better at
Ties your website and online ordering directly to Toast POS with 24/7/365 support.
Watch out
Only works on approved Toast hardware, with upfront hardware and implementation costs.

Square Online

Online store included in any Square plan; hardware from $59

Square Online includes online store features in any Square plan, covering website creation, orders and fulfillment, cart and checkout, catalog management, and bookings. Plans include encrypted payments, next day transfers, and offline payments. Hardware starts at $59, and Payroll starts at $35 per month plus $6 per person paid.

Better at
Includes online store, cart, checkout, catalog, and encrypted payments in any Square plan.
Watch out
Offline payments are declined if not reconnected within 24 hours, and 1st-gen readers lack offline support.

Wix

Free; paid from $17/month (paid yearly)

Wix offers a $0 Free plan on a Wix domain and four yearly paid plans: Light at $17 per month, Core at $29 per month, Business at $39 per month, and Business Elite at $159 per month. Paid plans remove Wix branding and include a free new custom domain for 1 year.

Better at
Over 2000 templates, custom domains, eCommerce from $29/month, events, and scheduling in one dashboard.
Watch out
Displayed monthly prices require paying for a full year upfront, and the Free plan keeps Wix branding.

Squarespace

14-day free trial; paid from $19/month

Squarespace has a 14-day free trial with no credit card required, and paid plans start at $19 per month for Basic, $29 per month for Core, $49 per month for Plus, and $99 per month for Advanced. Every plan includes the Fluid Engine editor, Blueprint AI, unlimited bandwidth, and Online Store tools.

Better at
Designer templates, custom domain included on Basic, built-in Online Store, and Acuity Scheduling.
Watch out
No permanent free plan after the 14-day trial, and Basic charges a 2% online store transaction fee.

Heya

Free ($0); Pro Lite $3/mo

Ours is a no-code builder for one-page and small sites. Heya Free costs $0 for up to 3 sites with up to 5 pages per site at yourname.heya.bio, and Pro Lite costs $3 a month for up to 20 pages per site. You can even build on your phone.

Better at
Costs $0 or $3 a month, has a ready-made restaurants template, and works on a phone.
Watch out
A custom domain requires Pro Standard ($6 a month, 1 custom domain per account), and Free sites allow up to 5 pages per site and show a small "Made with Heya" badge.

What a restaurant website actually needs

Most restaurant guests check a website for a few basics: the menu, opening hours, street address, phone number, and whether they can book a table or order food online. If your guests mostly dine in or call to order, an info page with a text menu, dish photos, a map, and a click-to-call link covers it. On Heya, you can put your menu in heading and text blocks, upload up to 200 images per site, link your phone and email in the socials block, and embed Google Maps or Calendly.

If you need interactive menus with dish-level reviews and OpenTable integration, Popmenu includes those on Starter at $159 per month, prepaid annually. For direct online ordering, catering, a guest mobile app, and a loyalty and rewards program, Owner.com ($249 or $499 per month) is built for that workflow.

When a dedicated restaurant platform is worth paying for

Dedicated restaurant platforms charge more than general builders because they bundle ordering, POS connections, and guest marketing. Owner.com starts at $249 per month plus a 5% restaurant fee per order on Flexible, or $499 per month with no restaurant fee on Flat Rate (for restaurants generating $5k+/mo in online sales), and includes online ordering, a mobile app, loyalty programs, and AI email and text campaigns. Popmenu starts at $159 per month (prepaid annually) and scales to $269 per month (with 500 SMS messages) and $449 per month (with 5,000 SMS messages and digital waitlist and reservations).

Your dining room POS may also dictate your best option. BentoBox is currently only available to Clover POS customers, Toast Websites sits in Digital Storefront Pro and requires approved Toast hardware, and Square Online includes online store features in any Square plan.

Free vs paid restaurant website builders

If you don't need POS-synced ordering, you can build a site for $0 or from $3 a month. Heya Free costs $0 with no credit card for up to 3 sites and up to 5 pages per site at yourname.heya.bio, with a Made with Heya badge. Heya Pro Lite costs $3 a month to remove the badge and allow up to 20 pages per site, while Pro Standard costs $6 a month for up to 5 sites, up to 20 pages per site, no badge, and 1 custom domain per account. Pro Plus costs $15 a month for up to 25 sites and up to 10 custom domains per account.

Wix also has a $0 Free plan, with paid plans starting at $17 per month (Light) or $29 per month (Core), billed yearly. Squarespace offers a 14-day free trial before moving to Basic at $19 per month or Core at $29 per month. For POS entries, Toast's Starter Kit starts at $0 per month, and Square Online comes in any Square plan.

How to set up a simple restaurant page on Heya

We built Heya for restaurants, cafes, and food trucks that want a straightforward info page without monthly software fees. You can start from our restaurants template (one of 68 templates) in your browser without an account, and build or edit on your phone. You type your menu sections and prices using heading, text, and divider blocks across up to 40 sections per page, and link a button to your ordering page.

You can add dish photos (up to 20 MB per file, converted to WebP), embed Google Maps or Calendly, and use buttons (up to 6 per block) or links (up to 50 per block) for third-party delivery pages. You can build and edit on a phone without an account, then sign in with Google to publish over HTTPS at yourname.heya.bio.

Open the restaurants template in the editor or see what it includes.

How we checked

We compared eight website builders used by restaurants by checking each provider's published pricing, plan limits, POS requirements, and built-in ordering and marketing tools. We grouped dedicated restaurant commerce platforms alongside general website builders so restaurant owners can weigh monthly costs against ordering features. The facts come from getbento.com, owner.com/pricing, get.popmenu.com/pricing, squareup.com/us/en/online-store/plans, squarespace.com/pricing, squarespace.com/websites, pos.toasttab.com/pricing, wix.com/plans, wix.com, heya.page/pricing, heya.page/docs.

Plans change often. If a number here is out of date, email hello@heya.page and we'll fix it.

FAQ

What is the cheapest way to build a restaurant website?

Heya and Wix both offer $0 Free plans that require no credit card. For paid plans, Heya Pro Lite costs $3 a month for up to 20 pages per site, and Heya Pro Standard includes 1 custom domain per account at $6 a month. Wix starts at $17 per month (paid yearly) and Squarespace starts at $19 per month.

Can I take online food orders on a Heya website?

You can link a button (up to 6 per block) or a links block (up to 50 links per block) to the ordering page you already use, and write your menu using heading, text, and divider blocks. For built-in ordering, look at Owner.com, Square Online, Toast Websites, BentoBox, or Popmenu's add-on.

How much do Owner.com and Popmenu cost compared to Wix or Squarespace?

Owner.com costs $249 per month plus a 5% restaurant fee per order on Flexible, or $499 per month on Flat Rate. Popmenu runs $159 per month on Starter, $269 per month on Essentials, and $449 per month on Premier when prepaid annually, with online ordering as an add-on. Meanwhile, Wix's paid plans cost $17 to $159 per month (paid yearly) and Squarespace runs $19 to $99 per month.

Do I need a specific POS system to use BentoBox or Toast Websites?

Yes, both platforms are tied to their point-of-sale ecosystems. BentoBox is part of the Clover ecosystem and its products and services are currently only available to Clover POS customers. Toast Websites sits inside Toast's Digital Storefront Pro, and Toast's services only work on approved Toast hardware.

Can I update my restaurant's hours and menu from my phone?

Yes, on Heya you can build and edit your entire site on a phone, so it's simple to change text menus or hours from the kitchen. Popmenu also includes an iOS and Android admin app in its core features and supports easy menu updates on its Starter plan.

How can I take table reservations on a simple website?

On Heya, you can embed a Calendly scheduling page using the embed block or link to a reservation page with a button. Popmenu's Starter plan ($159 per month, prepaid annually) includes OpenTable integration, and Premier ($449 per month, prepaid annually) includes a digital waitlist and reservations. Wix and Squarespace also offer scheduling through Wix's online scheduling and Squarespace's Acuity Scheduling.

Try Heya free

Start building your restaurant page with Heya's restaurants template in your browser, with no account or credit card required, and $0 to publish up to 5 pages at yourname.heya.bio.