Best website builders for a model portfolio website in 2026
Format (from $10 per month billed annually), Adobe Portfolio (from US$9.99 a month with Creative Cloud)
and Squarespace (from $19 per month) are full portfolio builders, while Carrd (free Basic or from $9 /
year) offers a lower-cost option and Heya ($0 Free or from $3 a month) builds one-page and small sites
for digital comp cards. This guide compares 7 builders on photo limits, domains and agency contact.
Heya is ours, so read its row with that in mind. Every other number comes from each company's own pages,
checked on October 28, 2026.
The short answer
-
Best dedicated portfolio platform Format starts at $10 per month billed annually for
70 high-resolution images and 10 client galleries, or $12 per month billed annually for 1,500 images
and a free domain for the first year.
-
Best for a cheap custom domain Carrd Pro Standard costs $19 / year and lets you
connect custom domains you own, add contact forms, and upload images up to 16MB and videos up to 64MB.
-
Best if you use Lightroom Adobe Portfolio is included with Creative Cloud plans
starting at US$9.99 a month, imports photos from Lightroom into responsive grids, and includes
password protection and custom domain support.
-
Best free digital comp card Heya Free costs $0 with no credit card for up to 3 sites,
5 pages per site, and up to 200 images per site, plus 68 templates you can edit on a phone.
7 model portfolio website builders compared
This table compares free plans, entry paid prices, custom domain rules, image limits, and contact or
booking features across all seven builders.
| Builder |
Free plan or trial |
Cheapest paid plan |
Custom domain |
Image and storage limits |
Contact, booking and privacy |
| Format |
14-day free trial, no credit card |
$10 per month billed annually (normally $14 per month) |
Connect domain; first year free on Pro/Pro Plus annual ($30/year after) |
70 high-res images on Basic; 1,500 and 100 GB on Pro |
Client galleries, CRM Light and client contracts on Pro |
| Squarespace |
14-day free trial, no credit card |
$19 per month (Basic); save up to 36% annually |
Free custom domain included on Basic ($19 per month) |
Unlimited bandwidth; Asset Library for images |
Acuity Scheduling, Invoicing for contracts, Email Campaigns |
| Wix |
$0 Free plan, no credit card |
$17 per month (Light, paid yearly) |
On Premium plans; free domain for 1 year on annual plans |
2 GB storage on Light; up to unlimited on Business Elite |
Online scheduling, built-in CRM, unified inbox with forms |
| Carrd |
Free Basic plan; 7-day Pro trial, no card |
$9 / year (Pro Lite) |
From Pro Standard ($19 / year) with SSL |
Images/GIFs up to 16MB, videos up to 64MB on Pro |
Contact forms on Pro Standard; password protection on Pro Plus |
| Adobe Portfolio |
Not stated (included with Creative Cloud) |
From US$9.99 a month with Creative Cloud |
Supports using your own domain name |
Imports from Lightroom and Behance into responsive grids |
Contact page included; password protection for site or pages |
| Canva |
US$0 per year Free plan; free trial on Pro/Business |
US$144 per year for one person (Canva Pro) |
Not stated (up to 5 custom short links on Pro) |
5GB cloud storage on Free; 100GB on Pro |
Exports PDF, JPG, PNG and CMYK; contact forms not stated |
| Heya |
$0 Free plan, no time limit, no credit card |
$3 a month (Pro Lite) |
Included on Pro Standard at $6 a month (1 per account, up to 5 sites, automatic HTTPS) |
Up to 200 files per site, 20 MB per image (2048px WebP) |
Email, phone, 29 socials, Calendly embed, or link a button to a Tally or Google Form |
Swipe the table sideways to see every column.
How each website builder works for a model portfolio
Format
14-day trial; from $10/month billed annually
Format is made for visual portfolios and starts at $10 per month billed annually (normally $14 per
month) for 10 pages, 70 high-resolution images, and 10 client galleries. Format Pro is $12 per month
billed annually (normally $24 per month) with 1,500 images, client contracts, and Lightroom
integration.
- Better at
-
Built-in client galleries, file transfers, copyright protection, and client contracts on Pro.
- Watch out
- No permanent free plan, and Basic caps you at 70 high-resolution images.
Squarespace
14-day trial; from $19/month
Squarespace has a 14-day free trial with no credit card needed, and its Basic plan starts at $19 per
month (with savings up to 36% when paying annually). You get a Fluid Engine editor, designer
templates, a free custom domain on Basic, plus Acuity Scheduling and built-in Invoicing.
- Better at
- All-in-one site with a free custom domain, Acuity Scheduling, and contract invoicing.
- Watch out
- Starts at $19 per month with no permanent free plan after the 14-day trial.
Wix
Free; paid from $17/month (paid yearly)
Wix offers a $0 Free plan with over 2000 templates, while the Light plan costs $17 per month (paid
yearly in full) and drops Wix branding. Light gives you 2 GB of storage and a free domain voucher
for 1 year, alongside online scheduling, a CRM, and a unified inbox.
- Better at
- Free plan available, plus a unified inbox, CRM, and scheduling for freelance bookings.
- Watch out
- Paid plans start at $17 per month billed yearly, and Light includes 2 GB storage.
Carrd
Free Basic; paid from $9/year
Carrd has a free Basic plan and a 7-day Pro trial. Pro Lite is $9 / year for 3 sites without
branding, and Pro Standard is $19 / year for 10 sites, custom domains with SSL, forms, 16MB images,
and 64MB videos.
- Better at
- Custom domain and contact forms for $19 / year, plus 64MB video uploads.
- Watch out
-
Custom domains and contact forms require Pro Standard ($19 / year), and password protection
requires Pro Plus ($49 / year).
Adobe Portfolio
Included with Creative Cloud (from US$9.99/month)
Adobe Portfolio comes with a Creative Cloud subscription starting at US$9.99 a month. You can build
a single-page welcome site or a multi-page portfolio using themes like Thomas, Marina, and Lukas,
pull photos from Lightroom, use Adobe Fonts, connect your domain, and password-protect pages.
- Better at
-
Included with Creative Cloud, with Lightroom photo grids, custom domains, and password
protection.
- Watch out
- Requires a Creative Cloud subscription starting at US$9.99 a month.
Canva
Free; Pro at US$144/year for one person
Canva has a Free plan at US$0 per year with 1.6M+ templates and 5GB of storage, while Canva Pro is
US$144 per year for one person with 100GB. You can export designs as PDF, JPG, PNG, and print-ready
CMYK when you need a printed or PDF comp card.
- Better at
- Exports print-ready CMYK and PDF comp cards, with background removal on Pro.
- Watch out
- Pro costs US$144 per year, and custom domain details are not stated in our facts.
Heya
Free; Pro Lite $3/mo, Pro Standard $6/mo
Ours is Heya, a no-code builder with a $0 Free plan (up to 3 sites, 5 pages per site at
yourname.heya.bio), a $3 a month Pro Lite plan (20 pages per site, no badge), and a $6 a month Pro
Standard plan (up to 5 sites, 20 pages per site, no badge, and 1 custom domain per account). You can
upload 200 images per site, start from 68 templates, and edit everything on your phone.
- Better at
- Free 5-page site or $3 a month for 20 pages, 68 templates, and phone editing.
- Watch out
-
Custom domains require Pro Standard at $6 a month (you connect a domain you own), and Free sites
show a small badge.
What a model portfolio website needs: photos, stats, and agency contact
Casting directors and booking agents want three things on your site: clear photos, accurate
measurements, and a fast way to reach you or your mother agency. Put your height, bust or chest,
waist, hips, shoe size, hair color, and eye color in a plain text block near the top so nobody has to
hunt for them.
For photos, our builder accepts 200 files per site up to 20 MB each and converts them to 2048-pixel
WebP images, while Format Basic holds 70 high-resolution images and Format Pro holds 1,500. For video
reels, Carrd Pro takes 64MB uploads, Format Pro hosts 15 minutes of video, and Heya embeds YouTube or
Vimeo. Wix and Squarespace have built-in scheduling, while Heya links to email, phone, 29 social
networks, and an embedded Calendly page.
When a dedicated portfolio platform is worth paying for
A simple one-page site is enough when you just need a link in your social bio with your digitals,
stats, and agency email. Freelance and experienced models often need client galleries, file transfers,
or contracts, which is where dedicated platforms earn their keep. Format Pro ($12 per month billed
annually) gives you 50 client galleries, 5 GB of file transfers, CRM Light, and contracts.
Adobe Portfolio comes with Creative Cloud from US$9.99 a month, imports from Lightroom and Behance,
and password-protects specific pages for private casting reviews. Squarespace (from $19 per month) and
Wix (from $17 per month) add appointment scheduling and invoicing or CRM tools. On Heya, you can embed
a Calendly scheduling page and link buttons to a Google Form, Tally form, or external checkout page.
Free vs paid model websites: branding, storage, and custom domains
Free plans get your portfolio online for $0, though every builder limits branding, storage, or domains
until you pay. Wix Free ($0), Canva Free (US$0 per year), Carrd Basic, and Heya Free ($0) let you
publish without a credit card, while Squarespace and Format only give you 14-day free trials. On Heya
Free, your site is at yourname.heya.bio with a "Made with Heya" badge, and Heya Pro Lite ($3 a month)
removes the badge and bumps you from 5 pages to 20.
If you need a custom domain, the cheapest way to connect one is Carrd Pro Standard at $19 / year. Next
is Heya Pro Standard at $6 a month, which includes 1 custom domain per account and up to 5 sites, then
Adobe Portfolio at US$9.99 a month with Creative Cloud, or Format Pro at $12 per month billed
annually.
How to build a model portfolio website on Heya
You can build a portfolio on Heya from a computer or your phone without making an account first, since
drafts save in your browser until you publish. Start with one of 68 templates or a blank page, then
use the 10 block types to add a heading with your name, a text block for measurements and mother
agency details, and image blocks for your book and digitals.
Each site takes up to 200 files up to 20 MB per image, resized to 2048 pixels on the long edge and
converted to WebP. Add a socials block for 29 social networks, booking email, and phone, or embed
YouTube, Vimeo, and Calendly. Before publishing with Google sign-in, pick from 42 fonts, 14 theme
presets, and a "Hide from Google" toggle.
Open the models template in the editor.
How we checked
We compared these website builders using verified product facts, focusing on pricing, image capacity,
custom domain rules, and agency contact features relevant to models. Where a product's documentation
did not state a specific limit or feature, we recorded it as not stated rather than guessing. The
facts come from
portfolio.adobe.com,
canva.com/pricing,
carrd.co/docs/pro/plans,
carrd.co/pro,
format.com/pricing,
squarespace.com/pricing,
squarespace.com/websites,
wix.com/plans, wix.com,
heya.page/pricing,
heya.page/docs.
Plans change often. If a number here is out of date, email hello@heya.page and we'll fix it.
FAQ
What is the cheapest way to get a model portfolio with a custom domain?+
Carrd Pro Standard is the cheapest way to connect a custom domain at $19 / year, giving you Let's
Encrypt SSL, up to 10 sites, and contact forms. Heya Pro Standard costs $6 a month, which includes
1 custom domain per account, automatic HTTPS, up to 5 sites, and up to 20 pages per site (Heya Pro
Lite is $3 a month, without a custom domain). If you already pay for Adobe Creative Cloud (from
US$9.99 a month), Adobe Portfolio is included and takes custom domains.
Can I build and update my model portfolio on my phone?+
Yes, you can build and edit your whole site on a phone with Heya, and Format gives you a free
mobile app and mobile-optimized templates on every plan. Heya takes phone uploads up to 20 MB
each, resizing them to 2048 pixels on the long edge in WebP format. Adobe Portfolio also builds
responsive sites that fit any screen width.
Which model website builders allow password-protected pages for private castings?+
Adobe Portfolio (included with Creative Cloud from US$9.99 a month) has a password protection
setting for your whole site or specific pages. Carrd includes password protection on Pro Plus at
$49 / year, and Format offers 10 to 250 client galleries from Basic ($10 per month billed
annually) to Pro Plus ($15 per month billed annually). On Heya, sites can be found by search
engines by default, with a "Hide from Google" setting to turn that off.
How many photos can I put on a free model portfolio website?+
On Heya Free ($0), you can upload up to 200 files per site up to 20 MB each, across 5 pages. Canva
Free (US$0 per year) gives you 5GB of storage, while Wix Free ($0) and Carrd Basic don't state a
free image count in our facts. Format and Squarespace only offer 14-day free trials instead of
permanent free plans.
How do agencies and clients contact me or book me through these builders?+
On Heya, you can embed a Calendly scheduling page, link a button to a Google Form or Tally form,
and list your email and phone in the socials block. Squarespace has Acuity Scheduling and
Invoicing (from $19 per month), while Wix includes online scheduling, a CRM, and a unified inbox.
Format Pro ($12 per month billed annually) has CRM Light and client contracts, and Carrd Pro
Standard ($19 / year) adds contact forms.
Can I download my model portfolio or print a comp card from these builders?+
For a printed or PDF comp card, Canva supports exporting designs as PDF, JPG, PNG, and print-ready
CMYK. To download your website code and images as a backup or to host elsewhere, Heya Pro Plus
($15 a month) lets you download your site as an HTML ZIP with an index.html per page, styles,
fonts, and images. Carrd also lets you download HTML, CSS, JS, and images on Pro Plus at $49 /
year.
Try Heya free
Start building your model portfolio on Heya for $0 with one of 68 templates, with no account or
credit card needed to draft, up to 200 images per site, and $3 a month for Pro Lite if you want to
remove the Heya badge.