Best website builders for a bakery website in 2026

The best website builder for a bakery depends on whether you take online orders. For online ordering and fulfillment, Square Online, Shopify (from $29 per month billed yearly), and Big Cartel (free or $15 per month) lead. For a simple menu and hours page, Heya is $0 or $3 a month. This page compares 6 platforms.

Heya is ours, so read its row with that in mind. Every other number comes from each company's own pages, checked on October 28, 2026.

The short answer

Bakery website builders compared side by side

Compare starting prices, free plans, custom domains, and online ordering features across six website builders.

Builder Free plan Cheapest paid plan Custom domain Online store & orders
Square Online Not stated Not stated (included in any Square plan) Not stated Included in any Square plan
Shopify $0/mo Agentic plan (AI channels); 3-day trial $29/mo billed yearly ($39/mo monthly) on Basic Included with Shopify Hosting Unlimited products; 10 inventory locations
Wix $0 Free plan with Wix branding $17/mo billed yearly on Light plan Free for 1 year on annual Premium plans From $29/mo billed yearly on Core plan
Squarespace No free plan; 14-day free trial $19/mo on Basic plan Free custom domain on Basic plan Included on all plans (2% fee on Basic)
Big Cartel Free, limited feature Gold Plan $15/mo on Platinum (after 7-day trial) Included on Platinum ($15/mo) Sell physical products; schedule drops on Diamond
Heya $0 Free plan (up to 5 pages per site) $3 a month on Pro Lite (up to 20 pages) 1 custom domain per account on Pro Standard ($6 a month) Link a button to your ordering page

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

"Not stated" means the provided product facts do not specify a standalone website plan price or domain rule.

Detailed breakdown of each bakery website builder

Square Online

Included in any Square plan; hardware from $59

Square Online includes an online store, cart and checkout, catalog management, and order fulfillment in any Square plan. You get encrypted payments, next day transfers, and offline payments, while Square Hardware starts at $59 for your counter.

Better at
Built-in orders, fulfillment, and encrypted payments in any Square plan.
Watch out
Offline payments are declined if not reconnected to the internet within 24 hours.

Shopify

3-day trial, then $1/mo for 3 months; Basic from $29/mo billed yearly

Shopify gives you a 3-day free trial, then $1 per month for 3 months, and Basic costs $29 USD per month billed yearly. Plans include unlimited products, 10 inventory locations, gift cards, and discount codes.

Better at
Full online store with unlimited products, 10 inventory locations, and gift cards.
Watch out
POS Pro costs an extra $89 per month per location on Basic, Grow, and Advanced.

Wix

Free; paid from $17/mo billed yearly

Wix offers a $0 Free plan and over 2000 customizable templates. Yearly paid plans start at $17 per month for Light, while basic eCommerce starts at $29 per month on Core, alongside scheduling and event tools.

Better at
Over 2000 templates plus built-in scheduling, events, and email marketing tools.
Watch out
Requires upgrading to the $29 per month Core plan (billed yearly) for basic eCommerce.

Squarespace

14-day free trial; paid from $19/mo

Squarespace has a 14-day free trial and starts at $19 per month on Basic, which includes selling tools, a free custom domain, and a 2% store transaction fee. The $29 per month Core plan drops that store transaction fee.

Better at
Designer templates, built-in selling on all plans, and Acuity Scheduling for appointments.
Watch out
No free forever plan, and the $19 per month Basic plan charges a 2% store transaction fee.

Big Cartel

Free Gold Plan; paid from $15/mo

Big Cartel has a free Gold Plan, a $15/mo Platinum plan with custom domain support, and a $30/MO Diamond plan for scheduling product drops. It also lets you sell in person and take payments from your phone.

Better at
Low-cost online shop ($15/mo) with scheduled product drops on the $30/mo Diamond plan.
Watch out
Custom domains require the $15 per month Platinum plan, and automatic discounts require Diamond.

Heya

Free ($0); Pro Lite $3 a month; Pro Standard $6 a month

Our builder, Heya, lets you make and edit a small site right on your phone, with 68 templates and Google Maps embeds. Heya Free is $0, Pro Lite is $3 a month, and you can link a button to your ordering or checkout page.

Better at
Costs $0 or $3 a month, works on a phone, and includes 68 ready-made templates.
Watch out
Free sites show a small badge and allow up to 5 pages per site, and custom domains require Pro Standard at $6 a month.

What a bakery website actually needs

Most bakery customers check a website for four things: opening hours, daily or seasonal menu text, photos of baked goods, and a map to the shop. On Heya, you can put all of this up with our 10 block types, including heading, text, image, buttons, links, socials, embed, divider, spacer, and countdown. You can upload up to 200 images per site (up to 20 MB each), which we resize to 2048 pixels on the long edge and convert to WebP.

The embed block takes Google Maps, and the socials block links to 29 networks plus email, phone, and website. You can also use the countdown block for seasonal bake sales, or embed a Calendly page for cake tastings.

When a dedicated ecommerce platform is worth paying for

On Heya, you can link a button to your ordering page or a Google Form for cake inquiries, while bakeries taking paid pre-orders or shipping nationwide can pair it with or use a dedicated ecommerce platform. Square Online packs an online store, order fulfillment, and next day transfers into any Square plan. If you do limited-batch pastry releases, Big Cartel's $30 per month Diamond plan lets you schedule product drops, password-protect items, and sell in person from your phone.

For bigger retail setups, Shopify Basic is $29 USD per month billed yearly, with 10 inventory locations, gift cards, and shipping discounts up to 87% off. For custom cake appointments and selling in one place, Squarespace starts at $19 per month with Acuity Scheduling, and Wix has basic eCommerce on its $29 per month Core plan billed yearly.

Free vs paid bakery website plans

You can launch for $0 on Heya, Wix, or Big Cartel. Heya Free is $0 with no time limit and no credit card required for up to 3 sites and up to 5 pages per site at yourname.heya.bio, with a small Made with Heya badge. Wix's $0 Free plan uses a Wix domain and branding, Big Cartel has a free limited Gold Plan, and Shopify has a $0 per month Agentic plan for AI channels.

When you want to upgrade, Heya Pro Lite is $3 a month to drop the badge and get up to 20 pages per site, and Heya Pro Standard is $6 a month for up to 5 sites with 1 custom domain per account. For a custom domain on the other builders, Big Cartel Platinum is $15/mo, Wix Light is $17 per month billed yearly, and Squarespace Basic is $19 per month.

How to set up a bakery website on Heya with the template

Heya has 68 templates, including a restaurant template, and you can start building without an account while drafts save in your browser. You can build and edit your whole site on a phone using 42 fonts, 14 theme presets, a 5-color palette, and up to 40 sections per page. Put your daily menu in heading and text blocks, upload bread and pastry photos, and drop in a Google Maps embed for your storefront.

Before you publish at yourname.heya.bio by signing in with Google (our only sign-in option), you can set your site name, description, page titles, language, tab icon, and a 1200x630 share image. Every published site runs on HTTPS, gets its own sitemap.xml and robots.txt so search engines can find it, and can be edited any time from a phone.

Open the bakeries template in the editor or see what it includes.

How we checked

We compared these six website builders using their published plan prices, ecommerce capabilities, domain rules, and editing features. We separated platforms built for online checkout and inventory from builders designed for simple information pages. The facts come from bigcartel.com/product/pricing, shopify.com/pricing, squareup.com/us/en/online-store/plans, squarespace.com/pricing, squarespace.com/websites, wix.com/plans, wix.com, heya.page/pricing, heya.page/docs.

Plans change often. If a number here is out of date, email hello@heya.page and we'll fix it.

FAQ

What is the cheapest way to put a bakery menu and hours online?

Heya Free and Wix Free both cost $0 with no credit card required. On our free plan, you get up to 5 pages per site at yourname.heya.bio with 68 templates and a Google Maps embed. You can also pay $3 a month for Pro Lite to remove the badge.

Can I take online cake and pastry orders on Heya?

You can link a button on your Heya site to your existing ordering or checkout page, or link to a Google Form or Tally form for custom cake inquiries. For built-in online checkout, look at Square Online, Big Cartel (free or from $15 per month), Squarespace (from $19 per month), Wix Core ($29 per month billed yearly), or Shopify Basic ($29 per month billed yearly).

Which website builder is best for weekend pastry drops?

Big Cartel's Diamond plan ($30 per month) lets you schedule product drops and password-protect products. Squarespace's Plus plan ($49 per month) also has a reserved cart and countdown timer for store shoppers. On Heya, you can add a free countdown block for days, hours, minutes, and seconds, and pair it with a button linked to your ordering page.

Can I connect a custom domain to my bakery website?

Yes, you can connect one on Big Cartel Platinum ($15/mo), Wix Light ($17 per month billed yearly), Squarespace Basic ($19 per month), and Shopify Basic ($29 USD per month when billed yearly). On Heya, Free sites use yourname.heya.bio, while Pro Standard ($6 a month) includes up to 5 sites and lets you connect 1 custom domain per account.

Which bakery website builder works best with in-person counter payments?

Square Online, Big Cartel, and Shopify all handle counter sales well. Square Online includes online store features in any Square plan, with Square Hardware from $59 and offline payments if you reconnect within 24 hours. Big Cartel lets you sell in person and take payments from your phone, and Shopify Basic ($29 USD per month when billed yearly) has 2.6% + 10¢ in-person card rates.

Can I build and update my bakery menu from my phone?

Yes, you can build and edit a Heya site fully on your phone to update daily bread or pastry lists. Big Cartel also has an iOS and Android mobile app and lets you sell in person and take payments from your phone.

Try Heya free

Start building your bakery website on Heya with our 68 templates for $0, with no credit card required and no account needed until you publish.